top of page
Timeline and history of GAA in the Benelux 

1747 -  First reference to hurling in Europe in a letter written by a French army officer before the Battle of Laufelt in Belgium (only 5km from present day European GAA home ground in Maastricht)

1910 - First inter-county hurling matches played in Europe with Tipperary and Cork playing three games during Pan Celtic Congress in Brussels

The first GAA club in mainland Europe appears in Luxembourg 


The second club in Europe appears 

Den Haag GAA

Hague crets.jpg

The first tournament hosted in the Benelux, organised by luxembourg & Brussels


European Communities Brussels established.


The first ever Poc Fada took place in Tongeren, Belgium 


Amsterdam GAC established

Belgium GAA established

European County Board Founded 

European GAA Board is founded at a meeting in Marriott Hotel, Amsterdam on 22 November
Five clubs attend including three from Benelux with Thomas Briody (Hague); John Haughney (Lux); John Ludden (Brussels) elected to first board as Public Relations, Development & Youth Officers respectively


Leinster Council coach James Lovett delivers the first official GAA coaching session in the Hague

Brussels are first youth team from Europe to compete in the “Feile Peile na nÓg” in Thurles, Ireland


Luxembourg win the first official European Ladies Football competition. 

Tournament hosts: Den Haag 


Hague crets.jpg

The Hague win the first European Hurling Championship and become the first Benelux team to win the  European men’s football Championship then known as the “Euro League”


Maastricht Gaels arrive on the scene, lead by Tony Bass,

Who becomes Europes longest serving board member.


Maastricht Gaels win the first European Football Shield (now “Intermediate Championship”) in Barcelona


 Luxembourg win the first official European Camogie Championship title


Luxembourg win the “Poc Fada na hEorpa” competition for record  7th time (Damien Higgins)

Luxembourg men win the first ever Gaelic Football Benelux tournament.


Frankfurt Sarsfields 



Cologne GAA established

 Belgium win the inaugural Benelux Regional Ladies Football Championship


Dusseldorf GAA 


Eindhoven Shamrocks established

Untitled design (13).png

Mary Gavin (Hague) becomes first European recipient of a GAA President’s Award 

(after founding Den Haag GAA club in 1984; serving as club secretary; organising the Den Haag Invitational Football tournament since 1994;

co-founding European Board in 1999 & managing club and European teams


Hamburg GAA established

Darmstatdt GAA established

Earls of Leuven GAA established.


Groningen Gaels established

 Frankfurt ladies claim their first European crown winning the European Intermediate Championship


Leuven & Eindhoven win their first European football titles, taking home the Intermediate Championship & Shield trophies

Nijmegen GAA
Leuven host the inaugural European Universities Football Championships

Luxembourg are first Benelux representatives to win the Euro Cup played over two days in Pontevedra

Belgium claim a record 9th European Camogie Championship title in Amsterdam

Amsterdam win the first European Premier (15s) Hurling Championships, hosted by Maastricht

Belgium ladies footballers smash their own record, winning a 13th European Senior Championship title

The First ever Benelux teams participate in the euro cup in Galicia 


Eindhoven host the inaugural Benelux region Camogie and Hurling Championships which are won by Belgium and Luxembourg respectively

Maastricht host inaugural European Universities Camogie & Hurling Championships


First Leinster Club Football Championship fixture outside of Ireland is played in Maastricht

Belgium win the first ever European Premier (15s) Ladies Football Championship 


Belgium are first European team to qualify for an All Ireland Ladies Football Club Championship Quarter-Final, which is also the first All Ireland QF ever to be played in Europe in Maastrich

Benelux regional committee established

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It's easy.

Tony Bass (Maastricht) honoured with GAA President’s International Award 

founder of the Maastricht Gaels club in 2004 and serving as club secretary since 2006.
​European GAA Secretary [2004-13]
Central Council rep [2012-17];
Vice-Chair [2016/17];
Chair [2017-20];
Development Officer [2021-to date]

Full reports coming soon

bottom of page